Categories of housing systems for laying hens

Council Directive 1999/74/EC laying down minimum standards for housing of laying hens, defines three major categories of housing system: alternative systems, unenriched cage systems and enriched cage systems, more correctly called furnished cages. In time unenriched cages are due to be phased out, leaving only two categories of housing system. Both categories however comprise a wide variety of different models, making it hard to draw conclusions on bird welfare in these systems. A better indication of welfare in relation to housing system can be made by using sub-categories of housing system.

Deliverable 2.3
Description of housing systems for Laying hens

Deliverable 23.pdf

Poster WSPA Housing 2005

Poster WPSA housing 2005.pdf